Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin


JAN PETRYKA & YASUSHI HIRANO at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival

On Whit Sunday, the C minor Mass, which Mozart composed in Vienna but intended for St Peter's Collegiate Church in Salzburg, will be performed in a historically informed performance at the Salzburg Felsenreitschule. This concert, dedicated to Mozart's sacred oeuvre, is entrusted to the baroque orchestra Les Musiciens du Prince - Monaco, the vocal ensemble Il Canto di Orfeo and chief conductor Gianluca Capuano, who in recent years have received enthusiastic acclaim from the international media and equally enthusiastic applause from the audience during their residencies at the Salzburg Whitsun and Summer Festivals with music ranging from Monteverdi to Verdi.

The two male vocal parts will be sung by tenor Jan Petryka, who recently attracted attention as the Evangelist in several performances of Bach's St John Passion conducted by Jordi Savall, and bass Yasushi Hirano, who was heard a few weeks ago as Sarastro under Masato Suzuki and his Bach Collegium Japan.


Regula Mühlemann, soprano
Juliette Mey, mezzo-soprano
Jan Petryka, tenor
Yasushi Hirano, bass

Gianluca Capuano, musical direction
Les Musiciens du Prince - Monaco
Il Canto di Orfeo
Salzburg Bach Choir
Jacopo Facchini | Michael Schneider, choral rehearsals


19 May | 11:00
W. A. Mozart: C Minor Mass KV427
Salzburg | Felsenreitschule